ASA News

The ASA in recent years went through a very exciting transformation, from a committee setup to a more professional structure of a Board and a formal executive. We still operate as a non-profit organisation, but now have part-time office staff to help raise the level of service available to all members. The Board, consisting of unpaid volunteers elected annually at the AGM, conscientiously works at seeking further industry and strategic alliances to maximise recognition of and benefits to the Australian songwriting community. The ASA, Australia’s only truly national songwriters’ association, is buoyed by power of the song and the extensive amount of talent to be found in this nation.

Member News

The ASA’s National Awards Night  which honours the Australian Songwriting Contest’s successful songwriters, is held in Sydney each year. This gala industry event not only unveils the ASA Songwriter of the Year, but also features the induction of the country’s finest songwriters into the Australian Songwriters Hall of Fame! Limited seating is available for this dinner-style event, so keep an eye on the home page for updates in the latter half of the year, so you can get in early! Bookings are via email: .

Industry News

A valued sponsor of the ASA’s Songwriter of the Year Award in the Australian Songwriting Contest is APRA (Australasian Performing Rights Association). This organisation provides composers and publishers with the invalable service of collecting their copyright fees and ensuring the money gets passed on to them. This is why APRA membership is essential for all songwriters. It’s free – just go to

NEWSFLASH re Radio Airplay

Community Radio 101.5fm Moreton Bay Qld have given the go ahead to support Australian Songwriter’s and Independent Labels regularly on a much greater scale. The first program on 101.5fm to feature the new format will be “Ozrock”, which airs once a month on Saturdays, 12noon to 3pm compered by Aaron Earner.

Johnny Dee, our ASA coordinator for the area, put the proposal together. He invites ASA members to send their CD/s, Bio’s and contact details through, so we can endeavor to get as much air play and promotion for them as possible. We also have the opportunity to feature Songwriters on another 3 to 4 program’s being Country, Rock, Blues and Jazz on the station. 101.5fm is regarded as one of the top Community Radio Stations in Australia, being affiliated with approximately 200 other Community Stations. Once we get the content and format 110% according to 101.5fm, we may have the opportunity to have “Ozrock picked up on relay by the other Community Stations around Australia. If you want air play and exposure, now is the time to follow through with CD, Bio and contact details.

Johnny Dee
P.O. Box 2171
Woorim QLD 4507
Phone: 0468 967 687

The Australian Country Songwriters Show

Calling all Country and Country-Crossover songwriters!

ASA Director, Alan Gilmour, is currently working on a pilot for The Australian Country Songwriters Show, to be broadcast weekly on radio station todayscountry94one, on the NSW Central Coast and Hunter Valley regions.

The station was recently awarded the 2014 Australian Country Music Peoples’ Choice Award for the most popular country radio station in Australia. It broadcasts both on air to the NSW Central Coast and Hunter Valley regions and over the internet to Australia and the World by online feed.

The Australian Country Songwriters Show will feature music from a broad range of Australian country (and country cross-over) songwriters, and will include selected songs from ASA members and Australian Songwriting Contest entrants.

The aim is to provide exposure to songwriters who would not otherwise have the opportunity to be heard on air.

If you would like your songs to be considered for on-air broadcast, please contact Alan at or send your CD to:

Alan Gilmour
P.O. Box 3011
Wamberal NSW 2260

Please note that any songs played on the show will need to meet the station’s high broadcast quality standards and will also require approval from the Todays Country 94one programming committee.