The Rudy Brandsma Award was established in 1983 in memory of the late ASA Chairman Rudy Brandsma (1944-1983). The Award is presented annually by the Board of Directors of The Australian Songwriters Association Inc in recognition of songwriting excellence by an ASA member in the course of that year’s Australian Songwriting Contest. Award winners are:

Rudy Brandsma and The New Chord Trio