The 2018 Australian Songwriting Contest is now open.

The Australian Songwriters Association (ASA) is a national, non-profit, member-based organisation dedicated to the support of songwriters and their art. Founded in 1979, the ASA today has a large, vibrant and diverse membership across Australia, and is well established and highly regarded.
The ASA’s Australian Songwriting Contest is the country’s largest and longest running competition (over 30 years!) for professional and amateur songwriters. Songs are judged on originality and craft. The song does not have to be performed by the songwriter, but it must be original and not signed with a publishing company at the time of entry.
Membership of the ASA and entry into the Australian Songwriting Contest is open to Australian citizens and permanent residents only, with the exception of the International Category, which is open to citizens of all nations. Entry must be in the name of an individual songwriter, whose responsibility it will be to list any co-writers and liaise with them as necessary if the material progresses through the competition.
Sponsors of prizes and supporters of the organisation include APRA/AMCOS, PPCA, Hal Leonard, Noteflight, Maton Guitars, James North Productions, Australis/Ashton, MAXXDBXXX-Sonic Management, Syntec International, Grover Allman, Ausmidi, Band in a Box, YOYO Management, Fast Track Talent Showcases, Magesongs School of Songwriting, Q Music, Song Central, Australian Institute of Music (AIM), Black Pearl Studios, iDOCoach, Katie Hardyman Music, University of Griffith, MMS Retail, KIX Country Radio Network, Vienna People Studios, , Wests Tigers Rugby League Ltd, Wests Ashfield Leagues Club, TrakVan, Rhythms Magazine, MusicNSW, Mackin Websites, Video Recordings Australia, Aerios Productions, Project TV and BDO.
As well as the Prize Sponsors listed above, the ASA gratefully acknowledges Radio Station 4BC and sister stations for ongoing support.
The ASA uses up to 60 well-qualified people from the music industry in a unique multi-tiered judging system in which each entrant’s identity is hidden. This precludes any tendency for the judges’ decisions to be influenced by any factors outside of the song itself.
A very exciting feature of this year’s Australian Songwriting Contest, is that, courtesy Hal Leonard and Noteflight, EVERY SINGLE ENTRANT WILL RECEIVE A CODE FOR 3 MONTHS FREE ACCESS TO NOTEFLIGHT!!! This is valued at $99.95, and regardless of results, every songwriter who puts a song in the competition will receive this benefit.
Following the judging process, 1st place-getters are invited to perform at the ASA’s gala National Songwriting Awards, which is an important fixture on the Music Industry Calendar. The Lyrics Category winner is the only exception to this, but they will have their composition displayed in written form on the night.
All 1st place winners will receive a 3-year Noteflight Subscription (RRP $185) courtesy Hal Leonard and Noteflight.
All 1st, 2nd and 3rd place-getters will receive other prizes as detailed below, and all Top 10 finalists are recognised on stage at the Awards, as well as receiving a Certificate of Placing.
All entrants will have 3 free months free access code for all Song Contest entrants, valued at $99.95 sponsored by Noteflight.
The National Songwriting Awards have been dubbed ‘the Easys’, after the original inductees into the ASA’s Australian Songwriters Hall of Fame, The Easybeats. This year’s Awards Night will feature a very special performance by another elite Australian songwriter, who will be inducted into the Australian Songwriters Hall of Fame.